Ratings & Awards

Welsh Tourist Board 2 Stars HotelWalker AwardCyclist Award
Average Guest Rating for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Rooms:
3.8
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Facilities:
3.7
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating:
4.2
From 146 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
tara
Mature Couple
Stayed: Mar '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly family run hotel"
Felt very welcomed in this friendly hotel. Beds and linen super comfy, evening meal food was very good and reasonably priced.... Read more
"Friendly family run hotel"
Felt very welcomed in this friendly hotel. Beds and linen super comfy, evening meal food was very good and reasonably priced. Read less
Likes:
Handy location for Devils Bridge and Mountain bike trail centre
Dislikes:
None
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Rebecca
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"restfull and a pleasure to return"
easy registration, friendly faces, hassle free stay... Read more
"restfull and a pleasure to return"
easy registration, friendly faces, hassle free stay Read less
Likes:
location, price, friendly owners and staff
Dislikes:
no
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Hi Rebecca.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. and hope to see you again. thank you for your review comments. We do take note of these and try to act on them where required. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Regards Karen / Rob and all the Staff
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Gary
Family with older Children
Stayed: Feb '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Relax"
An overnight stop en route to Aberystwith.
Comfy and relaxing.... Read more
"Relax"
An overnight stop en route to Aberystwith.
Comfy and relaxing. Read less
Likes:
Excellent food.
Stunning location and surroundings
Dislikes:
None
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Hi Gary.
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments in your review. We do try to act on these comments and look forwards to seeing you again.
Regards Karen Rob and all the Staff
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Nigel
Young Couple
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great company, excellent service, breakfast and venue"
Really friendly atmosphere. Met some really neat people!... Read more
"Great company, excellent service, breakfast and venue"
Really friendly atmosphere. Met some really neat people! Read less
Likes:
Great place to relax
Dislikes:
No
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Rachel
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"comfortable family run hotel"
Overnight stay between Black Mountains & Conwy, Comfortable welcoming room, good nights sleep. Good home cooking pub style & breakfast... Read more
"comfortable family run hotel"
Overnight stay between Black Mountains & Conwy, Comfortable welcoming room, good nights sleep. Good home cooking pub style & breakfast Read less
Likes:
as above-would stay again
Dislikes:
no
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Alison
Alone
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Served my purpose"
Food was plentiful, owners very friendly and helpful and bed comfortable.... Read more
"Served my purpose"
Food was plentiful, owners very friendly and helpful and bed comfortable. Read less
Likes:
The location was central to lots of attractions
Dislikes:
Décor was a little tired
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Ruth
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"friendly & helpful"
wedding party... Read more
"friendly & helpful"
wedding party Read less
Likes:
helpfulness
Dislikes:
None
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Gayle
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '17
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
1
Breakfast:
1
"terrible experience"
We were sent a confirmation (FROM this business) that described this hotel as being in Aberystwyth, rather than the town it's actually in. We arrived in Aberystwyth during a rain storm, late at night,... Read more
"terrible experience"
We were sent a confirmation (FROM this business) that described this hotel as being in Aberystwyth, rather than the town it's actually in. We arrived in Aberystwyth during a rain storm, late at night, and when we were informed that we would have to drive another 45 -60 minutes in the storm, we found other accommodations and called to cancel. The proprietor was extremely rude, and yelled at me that he was going to charge us anyway. I am so glad we did not stay here, even if we lost money. Read less
Likes:
We did not stay here.
Dislikes:
None
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Dear Madam.
We Do Not and have Never said we are in Aberystwyth, We are located in Ponterwyd 12 Miles (15 to 20mins away) from the town as stated on our web site. You where not shouted at, It was you that was rude saying that we had miss-informed you about where we where located, I just informed you that you would be charged for the cancellation as our terms and conditions.
I am sorry that you did not drive the extra 12 miles and try our hospitality before saying you would never stay again.
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Martin
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Very friendly, family run hotel"
Excellent... Read more
"Very friendly, family run hotel"
Excellent Read less
Likes:
Friendly and homely
Dislikes:
Free wi fi would be a good idea
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Ken
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jan '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great place to stay in rural mid-Wales"
Welcoming staff, very good home-cooked food, well-kept beer and excellent value for money - all in a fabulous location!... Read more
"Great place to stay in rural mid-Wales"
Welcoming staff, very good home-cooked food, well-kept beer and excellent value for money - all in a fabulous location! Read less
Likes:
Everything!
Dislikes:
None
George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next

Book Now

Secure Booking Online

Instant Confirmation

Check-in Date
Nights
#Rooms
 
Room 1
Adults
Children
Room 2
Room 3

Guest Reviews

Overall rating: 4.2 out of 5
 Felt very welcomed in this friendly hotel. Beds and linen super comfy, evening meal food was very good and reasonably priced. 
tara / Mar 18
Read more reviews

Nearby Attractions

Devils Bridge Waterfall and Rheidol Valley Railway (2.3mi, 3.7km)
Devils BridgeNearby Attractions
Nant-yr-Arian (1.7mi, 2.7km)
International Mountain Bike Trails and Red Kite feeding stationNearby Attractions
Horse Riding (5.8mi, 9.3km)
Pony TrekkingNearby Attractions

Our Special Offers

PLEASE CONTACT